Toxic Ocean

This is from my old blog, I thought I would re-post it onto my new one. Although I am living in Ontario again my feelings haven’t changed.

P_Il_FishSchool

As many of you know, I have a huge love for the ocean. Before I moved here my mom and I promised each other we wouldn’t go to the zoo/aquarium. I don’t think I need to explain why. This is a decision that I truly believe is right, and I encourage everyone else to do the same.

I recently worked an event and a display was set up beside me about oil spills. It hit home. I’ve been trying to research ways I can get involved to make an impact on keeping the ocean clean for the world below it.

So, why not make a blog post?

I want everyone to know the importance of the ocean. The sea is the cradle of life on earth. Our growing knowledge is important; we can’t protect what we don’t know. We live because the sea lives (you understand this when you’re on an island). 

Essentially there is only one ocean, the world ocean. The same ocean that hits Hawaii hits Alaska and pulses through the Red Sea. These currents also reach California. So the waves that cradle Victoria has been everywhere in the world. Think about the toxins that happened in Hawaii, they may be traveling here. Did you know that 70% of the oxygen we breathe is from aquatic plants?

Have I got your attention now?

80% of marine pollution comes from lands-based activities. That is a huge problem. This includes: Oil spills, fertilizer runoff from farms and lawns, solid garbage, sewage disposal, and toxic chemicals. Almost every marine organism, from the tiniest plankton to the whales and even polar bears, is contaminated with man-made chemicals. I don’t understand how scientists haven’t made this into a bigger issue before it’s too late to save the habitat for the underwater life. Guys, this is even contaminating you. By eating contaminated seafood you’ll get serious health problems, like cancer.

rs9607_seal_plastic_ewanedwards_theclippertonproject_fpwc_media_use_ok-scr     25450382

I know I am just one person trying to change this, but I wanted the issue to be brought to peoples attention. Even just by zeroing-out plastic water bottles can help. I want to save our Eco-system. I want to help the ocean when we still have the chance. Our land is dirty, but why make the animals in the ocean have to deal with what we have to? They haven’t done anything to us, so why harm them.

I want us to treat the sea the way Palau does. They fully protect 500,000 square km of there economic zone. There is bans on industrial fishing, foreign fishing and exports. Palau is one of the last great places on Earth, and they work together to make that happen.  “Palau Oceans was established to support programs in Palau that will help make the National Marine Sanctuary a reality and pave the way to restoring healthy oceans globally.”

If they can do it, so can we! (thanks for reading my all-over-the-place rant)

Published by

kaitlivingston

News Anchor, Reporter and Show Host at an Ontario radio station.

Leave a Reply

