Things To Accept In Your Twenties

tumblr_nithffBT9y1r9jybbo1_400

People start expecting more things from you when you’re in your twenties. I am twenty-two and I don’t understand how some people seem to have life figured out already. But, guess what? A lot of us feel this way.

If you accept these five things, life is a lot easier.

1. You will lose some friends.

Yes. You will. And that’s ok. A lot of friends are made in highschool, and once you’re out of highschool you grow apart. Remember, your true friends are people that you don’t see everyday because of a full-time job but they still love you. I have learned that it is much better to have a few close friends, than a big group of people who don’t know much about you.

2. There is still time left.

A lot of my facebook friends are buying houses and getting engaged. Meanwhile, I am still working on my career and drinking with my friends. But, you know what, that’s totally fine!

You’re only in your twenties you have plenty of time to settle down. Don’t sweat the small stuff and enjoy the time you have now before your settled down and can’t!

3. You still have time to find your dream job.

I have plenty of friends who have gone to school and realized it’s not what they want to do. I also know people who have graduated and can’t find a job. These days employers expect you to have 10 years experience when you JUST graduate college(hello, that’s impossible)! So, when you do get a job… Good for you!

4. Don’t set a 10-year plan.

It wont happen. Life changes daily. Some people expect you to know exactly what you want to do with the rest of your life. I still have no clue. My word of advice, is to stop worrying and enjoy the here and now. Thing will fall into place shortly. This is the reminder that my twenty-something year old self keeps reminding me.

You’re young! Stop worrying!

5. You don’t have to do it alone.

Talk to your friends and family. Chances are they have felt the same way you have. Don’t be afraid to speak up and ask for advice. Everyone has their doubts and that’s totally normal!

If you have any advice, comment below!

Published by

kaitlivingston

News Anchor, Reporter and Show Host at an Ontario radio station.

2 thoughts on “Things To Accept In Your Twenties”

  1. The transition from college to “adulthood” has been awkward for me to say the least. It’s taken awhile to figure out how to not feel intimidated by co-workers who are older than my parents. Also not how to get respect from these professionals who have so much experience in my field of work. A key thing I discovered is the power of technology. I use my millennial knowledge of different technologies to gain this respect. Co-workers come to me almost daily with questions on the different technologies used in my field.

    Like

Leave a Reply

